Our network


UWG to break ground on Newnan campus

UWG to break ground on Newnan campus

NEWNAN, Ga. -- A groundbreaking ceremony for the University of West Georgia's new Coweta County campus will be held early next month.

Everyone is invited to the event, which will be Monday, Sept. 9 at 11:30 a.m. at 80 Jackson Street in Newnan.

RELATED | UWG celebrates Coweta freshmen
RELATED | UWG acquires historic Newnan Hospital

City of Newnan spokeswoman Gina Snider said the university's construction project should have an immediate $21 million economic impact on the city. It will also create roughly 176 jobs.

The campus is expected to generate between $1.4 million and $3.4 million for Newnan's economy every year.

UWG celebrates Coweta freshmen

UWG celebrates Coweta freshmen

NEWNAN, Ga. -- The University of West Georgia will hold a big celebration this week for all incoming freshmen from Coweta County.

President Dr. Kyle Marrero and mascot Wolfie, as well as numerous alumni, will represent the school during the send-off. It will be held Thursday, Aug. 22 at 6:30 p.m. at the Newnan Centre, and is free to attend.

The event "is a great way for new students to be celebrated and recognized for their decision to 'Go West' and for our wonderful alumni to play an important role in welcoming these students to the pack," according to UWG director of alumni relations Frank Pritchett.

Attendees will be treated to refreshments and live music from Musicology Newnan.

Learn more and RSVP at westga.edu.

2012 Ga. Schools of Excellence named

2012 Ga. Schools of Excellence named

ATLANTA -- The Georgia Department of Education has identified the state's 2012 Schools of Excellence.

The annual honor is presented in two categories: Highest Performance and Highest Progress. Fourteen schools made the cut in each area.

"These schools are the epitome of excellence," Georgia School Superintendent Dr. John Barge said in a statement. "I offer my congratulations to our 2012 Georgia Schools of Excellence."

Barge added that he plans to visit all 28 schools at some point during the school year.

Metro Atlanta's Schools of Excellence include:

Atlanta Public Schools
* KIPP STRIVE Academy, Southwest Atlanta (Progress)

Bremen City
*Jones ES (Performance)

Clayton County
* Elite Scholars Academy, Morrow (Performance)

Cobb County
* Garrison Mill ES, Marietta (Progress)
* Kennesaw Charter Science and Math Academy (Progress)

School year begins in Coweta County

School year begins in Coweta County

COWETA COUNTY, Ga. -- The 2013-14 school year begins Tuesday for students in Coweta County.

The school system has 24,00 students and 101 new teachers this year.

RELATED | New assistant principals named to 3 Coweta schools

Send your first day of school photos to photos@11Alive.com or submit them to our first day of school photo gallery.

Path2College sweepstakes end Aug. 15

Path2College sweepstakes end Aug. 15

ATLANTA -- Georgia's Path2College 529 Plan is making it easier for families to pay for college by holding two scholarship giveaways.

The deadline to enter both contests is Thursday, Aug. 15.

Mitch Seabaugh, director of the Path2College 529 Plan, said the two sweepstakes are designed to encourage families to start saving for college while their children are still very young.

"If 10,000 more Georgia families start saving for college, that's 10,000 more children who will have a head start toward achieving their dream when they graduate from high school," he said in a statement.

Seabaugh added that the sweepstakes also benefit young students because they provide money for schools and libraries.

The first contest -- the 10,000 Reasons to Save Sweepstakes -- will gives $10,529 to two lucky winners: a current Path2College account holder and a non-account holder. The two winners' schools will each receive $10,529.

First days of school in metro Atlanta

First days of school in metro Atlanta

NEWNAN, Ga. -- It's only mid-July, but many metro Atlanta students are preparing to head back to school.

Monday, July 15 is the first day of the 2013-14 school year for children at three Atlanta schools -- Boyd, Centennial Place and Hutchinson elementary schools -- and the Elite Scholars Academy in Clayton County.

RELATED | Year-round school begins Monday

In Coweta County, the first day of school is Tuesday, Aug. 6.

Other school start dates throughout north Georgia include:

Thursday, Aug. 1
Decatur City
Paulding County

Friday, Aug. 2
Newton County

Monday, Aug. 5
Cherokee County
Floyd County
Henry County

New assistant principals named to 3 schools

New assistant principals named to 3 schools

NEWNAN, Ga. -- The Coweta County Board of Education has appointed new assistant principals to three schools.

Melissa Brubaker, lead counselor at East Coweta High School, is one of two new assistant principals at the school. The other is David Dement, who is currently a social science teacher at Newnan High School.

James Fowler, a social science teacher at Griffin High School, will move to Coweta County to be assistant principal at Welch Elementary School.

And Jessica Slaton, a special education teacher at Smokey Road Middle School, is the new assistant principal at Evans Middle School.