Our network

Eight Citizen of Year Nominees Named | Community Spirit

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Eight Citizen of Year Nominees Named
Eight Citizen of Year Nominees Named

NEWNAN -- (The Times Herald) One of eight nominees will be named Coweta's 2011 Citizen of the Year Thursday at 6:30 p.m. at the Coweta County Fairgrounds on Pine Road.

Previously sponsored by Newnan-Coweta Chamber of Commerce, this year's event is being sponsored by the five Kiwanis Clubs in Coweta County.

The Citizen of the Year award recognizes an individual with outstanding leadership and citizenship within the community and who demonstrates exemplary vision, civic pride, and a strong commitment to a better Coweta.

The previous Citizens of the Year serve as the selection committee for the annual task of choosing the next award winner.

Tickets are $25 for the buffet reception and may be purchased at Scott's Book Store on the Court Square or by calling 770-253-7147.

This year's nominees are:

*George Alexander, a member of the Newnan City Council, makes presentations about career choices. He also works with Scouts.

*Genet Barron is a member of the Agnes Scot College Alumnae Board and is active in her church. She has served on the Georgia State Scholarship Commission, is a member of the Heritage School Board and is a past president of the Coweta Kiwanis Club.

*Blake Bass, outgoing superintendent of the Coweta County School System, has also served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Newnan Kiwanis Club.

*Rev. Brad Brimlow of Grantville successfully merged two churches into one congregation. The new church created a community food pantry and is developing programs for children to help them learn instead of "hanging out."

*Walt Gutierrez operates one of the largest business in Coweta County and serves on the Newnan-Coweta Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. He has been involved in the American Cancer Society's Relay for Live and the Community Welcome House. He is also a member of Rotary International.

*Betty Hickman founded the Mentoring Program in the Coweta County School System. She aided in the creation of the Manget Brannon Alliance for the Arts. The Business/Education Partnership Program in the Coweta School System was her creation. Her major accomplishment has been the creation of Global Achievers, whereby she pairs students in the U. S. with students from other countries.

*Lisa Sewell speaks three languages fluently. She has been a board member for the 4-H Volunteer Leaders Association, vice president of the Ruth Hill PTO, secretary of the Coweta Car Seat Coalition and has translated the entire State teaching curriculum into Spanish for those who need it.

*State Rep. Lynn Smith began her career teaching high school French in Coweta County. Then she owned and operated a successful business for many years. While doing these things, she was president of the Newnan Junior League where she started the community food drive that is the biggest one in the county. She also began the process to create the "Taste of Newnan" cookbook. As a member of the Georgia House of Representatives, she has directed funding to Coweta including startup funding for CEC, the Coweta campus of West Georgia Technical College and for the new Chattahoochee Bend State Park.

Past recipients of the Citizen of the Year Award are:

1992 - Bill Williams

1993 - Scott Wilson

1994 - Joe Crain, Sr.

1995 - Mike Barber

1996 - Lindsey Barron, deceased

1997 - Sally Bowen, deceased

1998 - Jim Hardin, deceased

1999 - Dennis McEntire

2000 - Don Phillips

2001 - Bill Loftin

2002 - Bernie Parks

2003 - Harold Barron, deceased

2004 - Gene Tyre

2005 - Bill Headley

2006 - Willie Boyd

2007 - Bobby Welch

2008 - Robin Tornow, deceased

2009 - Don Chapman

2010 - Annie Joe Berkowitz


Newnan Deals